A Kaneohe woman who pleaded no contest to more than 300 counts of identity theft, computer fraud, theft, and forgery has learned her fate.

On Wednesday, a judge sentenced Tamila Alcoran to 20 years in prison.

Prosecutors say she forged dozens of checks and embezzled more than a million dollars from her former boss, Greg Boyer.

Boyer was in court as the sentence was handed down.

“I had to make a new company. She had all my information,” he said. “She was free. She had rights. I did not have rights. She had the right to be silent and not incriminate herself. I did not. I was being attacked from everywhere. That took me to one of my lowest points in my life.”

“At the time of the incident, my mind wasn’t coherent,” Alcoran said. “I’m hoping that in the future, you could find it in your hearts to forgive me for what I’ve done to you. Sorry.”

It’s now up to the parole board to determine how much of her 20-year sentence Alcoran must serve before becoming eligible for parole.

This is not the first time Alcoran has been accused of embezzlement.

She was also sentenced in 2006 to five years probation for stealing $40,000 from a youth soccer organization.

from KHON2 http://ift.tt/2t56WDf
from @KHONnews via IFTTT

